Eco Everest Expedition 2014 I & II


Expedition Update – 19/04/14 

Today is rest day for the team at EBC and Carsten Lillelund Pedersen joined the team from Namche Bazaar at base camp. The other members are now on their way up to Lobuche High Camp and will go for a summit push tomorrow.


Reaching Everest Base Camp


Eco Everest Expedition 2014 Team in Dinboche.


Yesterday a part of the team (Thomas, Tom , Wolfgang, Andy (blind climber), Andrzej, Saray, Sibusiso, Helmut) has set off to Lobuche for an acclimatization climb of Lobuche East.· Everybody left well and only 5 climbers stayed (Brian, Isaiah, Reid and Jelle) base camp to do a rotation to camp 1. In that morning we all woke up with the terrible news about the avalanche. Although our team is safe, many of our sherpas have lost friends and family. They return now for 4 days to their villages to support the families and attend the funerals. Our thoughts, concerns and respect go to the friends and family of the people involved in this tragedy.


In the morning we had the traditional Puja with all the Asian trekking staff, to bless us and our equipment for the following climb. In the afternoon it was time to test our skills and equipment on a part of the ice fall; crossing crevasses on ladders, using the jumar and rappelling down were part of the training.
Asian Trekking’s Eco Everest Expedition I & II started on April 07, 2014 under the leadership of Mr. William Mithcell Burker and Ms. Aparna Kumar respectively. There are eight members in I expedition and 9 members in II expedition.

The name of the climbing members are: Mr. Andreas Holzer (Austria), Mr. Daniel Kopp (Austria), Mr. Wolfgang Klocker (Austria), Ms.Saray N. Khumalo (S. Africa), Mr. Sibusiso Emmanuel Vilane (S. Africa), Mr. Isaiah Paul Janzen (USA), Mr. Reid Allen Larson (USA), Mr. Brian Neil Freeman (Australia), Mr. Andrzej Marek Wojda(Poland), Mr. Carsten L. Pedersen (Denmark), Mr. Helmut Wagner (Austria), Mr. Thomas Christian Mandl (Lhotse ) (Germany), Ms. Aparna Kumar (India), Mr. Jelle Veyt (Belgium), Mr. Bill Burke (USA), Melissa Arnot (USA).
The name of the BC members are: Ms. Juliane Mocklingholf (Germany), Mr. Thomas Wilhelm Kohler (Germany), Ms. Helga Dworzak (Austria), Mr. Jan Peter Steenblock-BC Trekker (Germany), Ms. Vivian Alice Callahan-BC Trekker.

Rate this post

Associated with

Asian Trekking Associates

We accept

Asian Trekking accepted cards

Sister companies

Asian adventureAsian TrekkingHimalayan

Supporter for

Asian Trekking Supports